Clubs

Art Club

Advisor:

Ms. Petiti- Room E109 lpetite@muhsd.org

AVID Club

Advisor-

Mrs. Conley- Room F108 kconley@muhsd.org

Book Club

Advisor-

Mr. Doyle- Library tdoyle@muhsd.org

The ECHS Book Club is one of the largest clubs on campus and is the largest book club in the district, with almost 40 members during the 2015-16 school year. We participate in the Merced Union High School District Battle of the Books every year and other activities, like pizza parties and trips to Barnes and Noble. We meet at lunch every other week in the library training room (E103).

Class of 2017

Advisor-

Mr. Sanchez- Room F202 bsanchez@muhsd.org

Class of 2018

Advisor-

Mrs. Gudgel-Lema - Room B209 kgudgellema@muhsd.org

Class of 2019

Advisor-

To be determined

Class of 2020

Advisor-

To be determined

California Scholastic Federation (CSF)

Advisor-

Mrs. Ruiz- Counseling office brandeeruiz@muhsd.org

Cyber Warfare

Advisor-

Mr. Castillo- Counseling office acastillo@muhsd.org

Desire to Inspire

Advisor-

Mrs. Evans- Counseling Office aevans@muhsd.org

Digital Media Club/Gaucho Network

Advisor-

Mr. Castillo- Counseling office acastillo@muhsd.org

Drama Club

Dutch Fulbright Project

Advisor-

Mrs. Spurlock- Room D212 tspurlock@muhsd.org

The Dutch Fulbright Project is a global classroom project is a collaboration that began with American teacher, Tina Spurlock and Dutch teacher, Elma de Hoon. Created in 2009, with the assistance of the Amsterdam Fulbright Center, the project is designed to create a global classroom. Students from Stedelijk Dalton Lyceum in Dordrecht, the Netherlands and students from El Capitan High School in Merced, California, U.S.A. work together via the internet to learn about each other, gain cultural tolerance, and discuss global issues. Student participants are American Advanced Placement students and Dutch International Baccalaureate students.


Environmental Science Academy

Advisor-

Mr. Medefind- Room F215 smedefind@muhsd.org

We are an after-school outdoor education club! If you are interested in the outdoors, this is the club for you!

El Capitan High ESA meets every Thursday at 3:16pm in room F215.


Equestrian Club

Advisor-

Mrs. Conley- Room F108 kconley@muhsd.org

Future Farmers of America (FFA)

Advisor-

Mrs.Evans- Room J104 mevans@muhsd.org

Website: https://www.elcapitanffa.org/

Gaucho Gazette

Advisor-

Mrs. Brazil Room D211 vbrazil@muhsd.org

El Legacy Publications is committed to demonstrating integrity, honor, and compassion in its examination and commentary of and for its community. We strive for journalistic and literary excellence as 21st century students, writers, artists, and citizens.

Interested in writing for the school newspaper and/or having your creative writing/artwork published? Feel free to just stop by room D-211, or email Ms. Brazil for more info: vbrazil@muhsd.org


Gay Straight Alliance (GSA)

Advisor-

Ms. Lee Room F209 jlee@muhsd.org

Hunting Club

Advisor-

Mrs. Campbell- Room B205 kcampbell@muhsd.org

Interact Club

Advisor-

Mrs. Gudgel-Lema - Room B209 kgudgellema@muhsd.org

KIWINS

Leadership

Advisor-

Ms. Nordman Room F104 jnordman@muhsd.org

LINK Crew

Advisor-

Mr. Price- Room F212 dprice@muhsd.org

Leo Club

Advisor-

Mrs. Birmingham- Room F204 cbirmingham@muhsd.org

Paranormal Research & Investigative Club

Advisor-

Ms. Urquizo- Room B201 surquizo@muhsd.org

Robotics Club

Advisor-

Mr. Doyle- Library tdoyle@muhsd.org

Robotics- the only high school sport where every player can go pro.

The ECHS Robotics Club is Merced County's first FIRST Robotics Competition team. We are Team 5852, Illusion Robotics. Our first competition was the 2016 Stronghold game. With a shoestring budget, borrowed tools, and donated parts we finished 10th out of 49 teams at the Madera Regional, making it to the quarterfinals. We also won the 2016 Rookie Inspiration Award.

Each year the competition is revealed in early January and teams are given 6 weeks to build a robot that can function and score points. The 6-week build season in is very intense and the regional competitions are unlike anything you have ever experienced. It is like a combination of a multiplayer video game and a NASCAR race.

We meet and work on a variety of projects year-round. Robotics offers students opportunities to learn programming, 3-D design, electronics, mechanics, teamwork, project planning and execution, fundraising, public speaking, and so much more. You do not need to be a computer or robotics expert to join. All you need is a desire to learn and a willingness to work as a part of team. All students are welcome. It is the "hardest fun you will ever have."


Ski and Snowboard Club

Advisor-

Ms. Besecker - Room B207 mbesecker@muhsd.org

Speech and Debate

Advisor-

Mrs. Morgan-Ramirez- Room D 205 tramirez@muhsd.org

Club Website: http://echsspeechanddebate.weebly.com/