Science

Mission

To prepare students to be future citizens and future scientists and to enact the National Research Council's vision of science education:

"Learning science depends not only on the accumulation of facts and concepts but also on the development of an identity as a competent learner of science with motivation and interest to learn more. […] Such identity formation is valuable not only for the small number of students who, over the course of a lifetime, will come to view themselves as scientists or engineers, but also for the great majority of students who do not follow these professional paths. Science learning in school leads to citizens with the confidence, ability, and inclination to continue learning about issues, scientific and otherwise, that affect their lives and communities."

From National Research Council [NRC] 2012, Chapter 11

Courses

  • Ag. Biology
  • Ag Earth Science
  • AP Biology
  • AP Chemistry
  • AP Physics
  • Anatomy
  • Biology
  • Biotechnology 1
  • Biotechnology 2
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Genetics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics

Faculty

MelissaBlakeMrs. Blake's Teacher Websitemblake@muhsd.org
CharleneGallardoMs. Gallardo's Teacher Websitecgallardo@muhsd.org
MarkGutierrezMr. Gutierrez's Teacher Websitempgutierrez@muhsd.org
RoxanaHusselsteinMs. Husselstein's Teacher Websiterhusselstein@muhsd.org
AngelaJonesMs. Jones' Teacher Websiteajones@muhsd.org
GurbaxShergillMs. Shergill's Teacher Websitegshergill@muhsd.org
MarilSoomalanMs. Soomalan's Teacher Websitemsoomalan@muhsd.org
RobertWatermanMr. Waterman's Teacher Websiterwaterman@muhsd.org