English

Mission and Goals

El Capitan High’s English program is an extremely rigorous course of study, designed for students who are capable of higher level thinking skills and who possess advanced reading and writing skills. The students in English welcome the challenge and excitement of learning more complex and demanding material. The expectations for students in this program are very high. The profile of an El Capitan student is multi-dimensional. The student’s work ethic is demonstrated by timely, consistent, complete,and high quality response to academic assignments along with consistent, active participation in classroom discussion and presentations with a focus on technology.

Students will:
1. Read texts from classical and modern fiction and nonfiction literature such as: short stories,essays, plays, novels, novellas, poems, and articles.
2. Write several literary analyses, research-based writings, reading summaries, narrative and informational writing, and timed writings.
3. Work cooperatively in groups, partners, and independently to create projects, summaries, and analyses.
4. Develop Cornell note taking skills.
5. Acquire a deeper appreciation for literature and style.
6. Develop technological experience and skills using multiple software programs.
7. Create numerous products that use technology with a focus on literature.

Courses

  • English 1 Pre-AP
  • Strategic English 1
  • English 2
  • Strategic English 2
  • English 2 Pre-AP
  • English 3
  • AP English Language and Composition
  • English 4 (ERWC)
  • AP English Literature and Composition

Faculty

RobertAguilarrjaguilar@muhsd.org
JasonArmstrongMr. Armstrong's Teacher Websitejarmstrong@muhsd.org
VanessaBrazilMs. Brazil's Teacher Websitevbrazil@muhsd.org
MichaelDavenportMr. Davenport's Teacher Websitemdavenport@muhsd.org
MichelleDillonMs. Dillon's Teacher Websitemdillon@muhsd.org
TaraMorgan-RamirezMs. Morgan-Ramirez's Teacher Websitetramirez@muhsd.org
XerMouaMs. Moua's Teacher Websitexmoua@muhsd.org
HeidiPedrozoMs. Pedrozo's Teacher Websitehpedrozo@muhsd.org
AnnekaSchneiderMs. Schneider's Teacher Websiteaschneider@muhsd.org
TinaSpurlockMs. Spurlock's Teacher Websitetspurlock@muhsd.org
SeleneValenzuelaMs. Valenzuela's Teacher Websitesvalenzuela@muhsd.org